Julie Morris
3 min readOct 27, 2019

How to be 40.

These flowers? Fresia. Mine. Sent to me by a client, because I’m a bad ass, and helped her launch her start-up.

I’m 40. Became 40 this year.

It’s new. It did cause a little internal writhing at first — kind of like a constrictor or something… squeezy or at least distinctly uncomfortable.

Truthfully, it felt like no one seemed open to the sucky nature of getting older. I’m sure there were plenty of empathetic conversations though.

But it’s like grief — loss doesn’t favor or reward those who step in to help.

You forget all the support you received. But you know you made it through to standing again, so…. thank you.

It’s been real. It’s no joke turning that big birthday, whatever that number ends up being for you.

You’ll know it when you get there.

But now I have a practical question, and will totally value your input.

What’s a better word or name or adjective, that can also function as a verb or noun, and as strong as “bad-ass”?

Because I want to be reducing the expletives, and can do better.

Because I’m 40, and there’s no way I’m going to be able to do this without owning that this is a thing. It’s real.

Because my kids need to be able to repeat the name of their mommy’s role and life approach.

They know it already, that I’m the most bad ass momma on the planet, but now they could call it what it is.

And they can’t say that I’m bad-ass.

Or bad ass? Badass? Hmm… musing.

But the new descriptor has got to be strong. A little unnerving. Very definitive. Surprising would be good.

And undoubtedly unforgettable.

So?

Survey says?

Bad-Ass Marketing.

My mommy’s a bad ass.

Help, friends. That can’t happen.

But if I’m going to be true to me, the 40 year old bad ass, I better name this fast.

Because momma ain’t getting any younger.

And momma ain’t getting any less bad ass.

Because the more I just let myself be me, I’m able to own and thrive in this 40 year old heart and mind and body.

And I’m not worried so much about forcing ‘less’ or minimizing things.

We and you and me and all can be the weird mix of bold, big, small, scared, standing, weary, audacious, silly, introverted extrovert that we are.

It’s soul-killing to be stalled, trying to not own the ‘bad ass’, so for God and reverence and my husband’s peace of mind and scout troops, for client referrals and LinkedIn, resumes and bios, especially for the gentler souls around me who need to still love me and not tune me out completely, and since the thesaurus failed me in this respect,

I await your help and reply.

While you’re at it, I’d love to hear: how are you going to be 40?

Six free bad-ass marketing consultation sessions to the winner. Yours to use to learn , or yours to donate to your favorite nonprofit or business.

Comment with all the awesome ideas you think of.

Sincerely and with all the love and confidence I can impart,

Your favorite and most genuine bad ass.

P.S. oh, if you’re wondering why I gravitated to ‘bad ass’? Because so many of y’all know me really well, you know that I’m not abrasive usually, I’m kind, gentle, and loving, and for the most part, respectful? Those things are all absolutely true. But there are problems in our communities that cannot be solved unless I rise up to be what I was made to be. Did God create a bad ass? Yeah, I think he did. But I have a feeling he’d prefer me to call it something different :-) so help your sister.

Julie Morris

I drag the genius out of your brain to make the world a better place. Don’t worry — it’s painless. personateam.com